Contact Us

The UBC Office of Research Ethics oversees the Behavioural and Clinical Research Ethics Boards, and is associated with the Ethics Board at UBC's Okanagan campus, as well as UBC's affiliated teaching hospitals.

UBC Office of Research Ethics

Laurel Evans, Director, Research Ethics
The Director is responsible for developing, implementing and monitoring the Program for Human Research Participant Protections at the University. The position is responsible for ensuring that ethics processes and polices at the University meet local, provincial, national and international requirements. 
Ph: 604-827-5113; Email: laurel.evans@ors.ubc.ca

Jean Ruiz, Senior Behavioural Research Ethics Analyst
The Senior Research Ethics Analyst develops policy, guidance, and educational programs in the area of social science and behavioural research ethics principles and processes. She also manages the BREB. 
Ph: 604-827-5310; Email: jean.ruiz@ors.ubc.ca

Suzanne Richardson, Clinical Research Ethics Officer
The Clinical Research Ethics Officer assists with policy, guidance and educational programs for clinical research ethics principles and processes.  She is a resource for all 5 UBC-affiliated Clinical REBs
Ph: 604-875-4111 ext. 68919; Email: suzanne.richardson@ors.ubc.ca 


UBC BEHAVIOURAL RESEARCH ETHICS BOARD (BREB)

Alanna Dyck, BREB Review Coordinator (leave replacement)
The BREB Review Coordinator advises researchers on BREB policies and expectations, and coordinates the review of applications.
Ph: 604-827-5112; Email: alanna.dyck@ubc.ca

Nadia Rad, BREB Senior Administrative Coordinator
The BREB Senior Administrative Coordinator coordinates the review of  applications and post approval activities.  She also advises researchers on the BREB's administrative processes and decisions.
Ph: 604-827-5114; Email: nadia.rad@ors.ubc.ca

Wendy Bond, Research Ethics Coordinator, Compliance
The Research Ethics Coordinator works half time with the BREB. She advises researchers on BREB policies and expectations, assists in the review of applications, and coordinates harmonized ethics reviews. She also maintains the BREB website.
Ph: 604-822-4581; Email: wendy.bond@ors.ubc.ca

Maria Valente, BREB Review Coordinator (maternity leave)
The BREB Review Coordinator advises researchers on BREB policies and expectations, and coordinates the review of applications.
Ph: 604-827-5112; Email: maria.valente@ors.ubc.ca 

UBC BREB Office
#102, Technology Enterprise Facility III
6190 Agronomy Road Campus map
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z3
Fax: 604-822-5093


UBC Clinical Research Ethics Board (CREB)

Pia Ganz, CREB Manager
The CREB Manager oversees the functioning of the CREB staff and Board, monitors ethical review process standards, and advises on compliance with ethics policies. 
Ph: 604-875-4149; Email: pia.ganz@ors.ubc.ca

Elmira Chan, Pre-Post Review Manager
The CREB Pre-Post Review Manager is responsible for managing the review of new Full Board applications and associated deferral/proviso responses, post-approval activities, and general inquiries. 
Ph: 604-875-4111 ext. 68918; Email: elmira.chan@ors.ubc.ca

Anita Lillquist, Ethics Review Coordinator
The CREB Ethics Review Coordinator is responsible for the review of new minimal risk applications and associated proviso responses, post-approval activities, and general inquiries. 
Ph: 604-875-4167; Email: anital@mail.ubc.ca

Svitlana Franchuk, Administrative Assistant
The CREB Administrative Assistant is responsible for handling incoming general inquiries, minimal risk post-approval activities, SAEs, and fee payment.   Svitlana is available on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.
Ph: 604-875-4111 ext. 68917; Email: svitlana.franchuk@ors.ubc.ca

UBC CREB Office
Room 210, Research Pavilion
828 West 10th Avenue Google Map 
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1L8


All UBC and Affiliated Research Ethics Boards